Finalists include superintendents from North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia and Washington

Alexandria, Va. – Dec. 15, 2015 – AASA, The School Superintendents Association, announced today the finalists for the 2016 National Superintendent of the Year. This marks the 29th anniversary of the program, which honors school system leaders throughout the country.
Co-sponsored by Aramark, VALIC and AASA, the 2016 National Superintendent of the Year will be announced at AASA’s National Conference on Education, Feb. 11-13, 2016, in Phoenix, Ariz.

The four finalists for the 2016 AASA National Superintendent of the Year are:

Freddie Williamson, Hoke County Schools, Raeford, N.C.
Williamson has more than 30 years of service in public education, with the past nine years as superintendent of Hoke County Schools. He is known for his transformational leadership style, no- excuses philosophy and innovative approach to addressing challenges. Williamson began his journey in public education as a classroom teacher. His experiences have included school administration for more than 25 years in various capacities, including vocational education, curriculum and human resources. In the summer of 2006, he was named superintendent of Hoke County Schools. Williamson has also served in several leadership roles for organizations such as the North Carolina School Superintendents Executive Board, North Carolina Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development Board of Directors, Sandhills Regional Education Superintendents Council, FirstHealth of the Carolinas Advisory Board and Fayetteville State University Educational Leadership Advisory Board. He also serves as an adjunct professor in the Department of Educational Leadership at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

Thomas Tucker, Princeton City Schools, Cincinnati, Ohio
Tucker has served 26 years in the Kansas and Ohio public school systems. During that time, he held the positions of classroom teacher, assistant principal, principal, director of secondary curriculum and superintendent. He was named superintendent of the Princeton City School District effective July 1, 2015. In 2008, Dr. Tucker became not only the first African-American to be named superintendent of Licking Heights Local School District, but also earned the distinction of being the first African-American superintendent in Licking County. He is an active member of many educational associations, civic organizations and committees, including the Buckeye Association of School Administrators and the National Alliance of Black School Educators.

Pamela Moran, Albemarle County Schools, Charlottesville, Va.
Moran has provided 40 years of public education service in Virginia, beginning as a middle school science teacher in Orange County in 1975. She worked her way up through the ranks of education administration in both Orange and Albemarle Counties until her appointment as superintendent of Albemarle County Schools in 2005. From 2009 until 2011 she served on various committees and as an officer in the Virginia Association of School Superintendents before being elected president of VASS in 2012.

Steven Webb, Vancouver Public Schools, Vancouver, Wash.
Webb became superintendent of Vancouver Public Schools in July 2008. He joined the district as deputy superintendent in 2006. Webb has a distinguished 31-year career in public education in Washington and California, serving as superintendent, deputy superintendent, assistant superintendent for secondary learning and technology, principal and assistant principal, high school teacher and coach. He is an active member  of the Digital Promise League of Innovative Schools and the Western States Benchmarking Consortium. He co-chairs the Coalition for Community Schools Superintendents Leadership Council and serves on the Horace Mann League board of directors. In 2014, Webb was one of eight public school leaders in the nation selected by eSchool News as a Tech-Savvy Superintendent. He currently serves on the boards of the Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce, Boys and Girls Clubs of Southwest Washington and Foundation for Vancouver Public Schools. He is also a member of the Washington State University Vancouver Advisory Council.

“We are pleased to be a founding sponsor of AASA’s National Superintendent of the Year program and to honor those who are committed to the success of today’s students,” said Jeff Gilliam, president, Aramark K-12 Education. “These talented educators are being recognized for their hard work and dedication to ensuring that our nation’s students continue to flourish and our communities thrive. We are proud to partner with AASA and VALIC in this important program.”

“VALIC joins AASA and Aramark in congratulating the four finalists for the 2016 National Superintendent of the Year,” said John Kevin, vice president, K-12 Markets, VALIC. “We are grateful for the outstanding leadership these individuals have shown for not only the benefit of their own school districts, but also the school systems throughout their respective states and the entire nation. We thank these superintendents for the superior work they do.”

“The four finalists for the 2016 AASA National Superintendent of the Year have demonstrated a steadfast commitment to excellence in the work they do,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “As a former superintendent, I know that the demands of a superintendent are incredibly high, which is why we look forward to honoring these outstanding superintendents as well as all of the 2016 State Superintendents of the Year at our National Conference on Education in February.”

The four finalists for AASA’s 2016 National Superintendent of the Year will have an opportunity to meet the national education community during a press conference on January 14, 2016, at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The briefing will begin at 8:45 a.m. (ET)

The AASA National Superintendent of the Year program is open to all U.S. superintendents who plan to continue in the profession. The program also honors Canadian and international school superintendents. The applicants were measured against the following criteria:

  • Leadership for learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in the school system.
  • Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication.
  • Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team.
  • Community involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national and international issues.

A $10,000 college scholarship will be presented in the name of the 2016 AASA National Superintendent of the Year to a student in the high school from which the superintendent graduated, or the school now serving the same area.

Click here to access a list of the AASA 2016 State Superintendents of the Year.