Washougal School District’s Canyon Creek Middle School was recently awarded the 2017 Washington State School of Distinction (SOD) for continuous improvement in the areas of English Language Arts and Math. CCMS was among 98 schools in the entire State of Washington and the only Clark County middle school to receive this award in 2017.  They were also recognized in 2016.

ESD 112 Board Member Ann Campbell, ESD 112 Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning Mike Nerland, Principal Sandi Christensen, and Washougal Superintendent Mike Stromme presented the award to the school in February.

“I am extremely proud that CCMS staff and students are being recognized for this demonstration of continuous academic achievement,” said Dr. Mike Stromme, WSD Superintendent.  “It is extraordinarily hard to maintain this high-quality level of instruction and learning over time.”

The award, announced in November 2017, was celebrated at an all-school assembly February 12, 2018.  Mike Nerland, ESD-112 Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning and Ann Campbell, ESD-112 Board Member, presented the school with a plaque and banner.  “This recognition distinguishes CCMS,” he said.  “It sets you above and a part for your excellence in teaching and learning.”  Nerland cited the CCMS teaching staff’s commitment that all students are important, their collaborative work in professional learning communities, their weekly focus on language arts and math, and hard-working students and supportive families contributed to earning this recognition.

CCMS Principal, Sandi Christensen told the crowd of students and staff that she wanted to take this opportunity to personally tell everyone how proud she is of them. “Everyone’s efforts matter when earning this award,” she said. “Our great teachers and staff who are here to help students learn, and our students who are constantly growing and improving their scores.  Congratulations to all of you!”

Christensen also challenged her sixth-grade students to continue their excellent work.  “I want us to earn this award again next year,” she said.