Sustained improvement over a five-year period in reading/English language arts (ELA), math, and graduation rate is the reason that 90 schools across Washington State being recognized with the 2015 School of Distinction award. Six of these schools are in the ESD 112 region.

The Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE) in partnership with the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD), The Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP), Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), and the Washington Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development (WASCD), have recognized schools in the top 5% of improvement for their levels. Elementary and middle schools are recognized for sustained improvement in reading/ELA and math achievement. High schools are recognized for sustained improvement in graduation rate over the past five years.

These 90 schools span all regions of the state, from large urban to small rural communities. Some of the student populations in these schools are as high as 97% poverty, 67% English language learners, as well as serving high numbers of challenged learners in special education. As Greg Lobdell, CEE CEO and Director of Research states, “These schools demonstrate that significant improvement is occurring across all our diverse public schools.”

This year represents the ninth year that CEE and partners have recognized schools with the School of Distinction award. Two schools–Green Mountain School in Green Mountain School District, and Wilson High in Tacoma Public Schools–are repeat winners, having received five School of Distinction awards. Nine schools received their fourth award. Eleven schools received their third and thirteen schools received their second SOD award. Fifty five schools received the SOD award for the first time in 2015.

The following ESD 112 region schools have been named 2015 Schools of Distinction:

  • Captain Strong Primary, Battle Ground Public Schools
  • Castle Rock Elementary, Castle Rock School District
  • Green Mountain School, Green Mountain School District
  • R.A. Long High School, Longview Public Schools
  • Trout Lake School, Trout Lake School District
  • Cape Horn-Skye Elementary, Washougal School District

Several schools in the ESD 112 region are repeat winners:

  • Captain Strong Primary: 2014 and 2015
  • Green Mountain School: 2007, 2008, 2012, 2014, and 2015
  • Trout Lake School: 2011 and 2015
  • Cape Horn-Skye Elementary: 2009, 2011, 2012, and 2015

This represents the 9th annual School of Distinction award recognition in Washington State.

“We are so pleased to recognize these schools for their hard work to increase student achievement,” said ESD Superintendent Tim Merlino. “Congratulations to students and staff who represent the many outstanding schools in our region.”