Former Board Chair Ann Campbell submitted her resignation from the ESD 112 Board of Directors after 27 years of distinguished service.

Campbell’s exemplary time on the board has spanned nearly three decades. Serving since February of 1995, she was passionate about supporting rural school districts. In her role representing District 7, she offered representation to Camas, Centerville, part of Evergreen, Glenwood, Klickitat, Lyle, Mill A, Mt. Pleasant, Roosevelt, Skamania, Stevenson-Carson, Trout Lake, Washougal, White Salmon Valley, and Wishram school districts.

In addition to serving as ESD 112 Board President from 2008-2010 and 2019-2021, as well as Board Vice President from 2006-2008 and 2017-2019, she also served as Legislative representative to the board, and Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD) Executive Board President in 2001.

“It’s not easy to send off someone who’s been a decades long mentor, colleague, and friend,” said current ESD 112 Board Chair Darlene Stickel. “Ann Campbell’s steady hand, unbiased integrity, and desire to work in concert define a true leader. Her wit and no-nonsense approach, especially since we bring diverse perspectives and experiences to the board, will be missed. I admire her unstinting passion for small schools, often traveling long distances to attend meetings and represent ESD 112 and her region.”

“Ann has been a model board member and a staple on the ESD 112 Board of Directors, “said Tim Merlino, superintendent of ESD 112. “I have had the privilege of working with Ann for many years, I am truly thankful for her dedication to the schools she represents and she will be dearly missed.”

At their January 25 meeting, the ESD 112 Board unanimously agreed to bring forward a Resolution at their February board meeting to present Campbell the Distinguished Service Award, which will include having her name placed on the ESD 112 flagpole.

Recruitment for a new board member to fill Campbell’s position will begin immediately.