The regional meeting of Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA) this month was made merry with the distribution of several awards for community members and organizations as well as school administrators. Hosted by Educational Service District 112, the ceremony recognized honorees for the contributions they make to school districts in the region.

Special awards were given to:

  • Ben Bagherpour of SEH America – Golden Gavel Award
  • Andrew Kelly of Lyle School District – Student Achievement Leadership Award
  • Glenn Gelbrich of Kelso School District – Award of Merit and Retirement Award

Community Leadership Awards, by awarding district

Camas School District recognized:

  • Bruce Whitefield
  • Camas Public Library

Educational Service District 112 recognized:

  • Sharon Linn, Vancouver Housing Authority
  • Unite! Washougal Community Coalition

Evergreen Public Schools recognized:

  • Nautilus
  • IQ Credit Union
  • DiscoverOrg

Glenwood School District recognized:

  • Glenwood Homemakers

Kalama School District recognized: 

  • Mark Wilson, Port of Kalama

Kelso School District recognized:

  • Kelso Police Department
  • Citizens for Kelso Schools

La Center School District recognized:

  • Chris Hiller
  • Citizens for La Center Schools

Longview School District recognized:

  • Lower Columbia School Gardens

Lyle School District recognized:

  • Renee Briggs, Marty Denis and Mildred Lykens

Ridgefield School District recognized:

  • Debbie McGravey, Ridgefield High School Boosters
  • Kimber Huntington Webb, WEBB Branding, Communication and Design

Vancouver School District recognized:

  • Dr. Mel Netzhammer, Chancellor, Washington State University Vancouver

Washougal School District recognized:

  • Rhea Bohlin