Educational Service District 112 presented regional awards on behalf of the Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA) to honor and recognize educational administrators and community members who have made extraordinary contributions to K–12 education. The Award of Merit, Student Achievement Leadership Award, Community Leadership Award, and many others were presented at a ceremony on Friday, May 20, at ESD 112 in Vancouver. This was the first time in two years that the ceremony was held in person.

“We’re proud to recognize and celebrate those who dedicate their exceptional talents to making our public schools the best they can be for our children,” said ESD 112 Superintendent Tim Merlino.

AWARD OF MERIT – for effective leadership at the regional level

Presented to Dr. Charlene Williams, Camas School District

“Dr. Charlene Williams has been a tremendous champion in Camas School District, as well as Clark County, ensuring that our students and families experience equity in access and opportunities. She understands the power of coming together to learn, by listening to our students and families who have been historically marginalized, and by engaging our community in a dialog to reflect on our own beliefs, deepen understanding, and work together to create equitable systems and practices.” – Camas School District Interim Superintendent Doug Hood

Examples of this include:

  • Facilitating the development of training modules focusing on equity and inclusion
  • Creating and facilitating a community equity forum that amplifies the voices of our most marginalized families and students
  • Developing and leading learning for equity teams at each of our school sites, broadening understanding, leadership, and impact
  • Facilitating a Student Advisory Committee to ensure that we are led by the voices of our students
  • Regionally, she has led equity planning, served on a regional equity committee, and initiated work to address spectator behavior at school sporting events, with the goal of eliminating hostile and racist incidents and fostering a positive sports culture

STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT LEADERSHIP AWARD – for innovative programs improving student achievement

Presented to Aaron Hansen, Washougal School District

“Washougal School District Assistant Superintendent Aaron Hansen has used his time in education working to advance student achievement and to ensure that all students are able to succeed. During his tenure as principal at Washougal High School, the school raised the graduation rate from 2016 to 2019 from 74 percent to 89 percent.  Subgroups also saw increases in graduation rates during this same time. Aaron discipline to restorative practices, minimizing student time out of class, and improving relationships.  Aaron has led the district’s equity work, focusing on creating systemic changes that will positively impact historically underserved communities.” – Dr. Mary Templeton, Superintendent, Washougal School District

COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP AWARDS – recognizing outstanding contributions to education, this award was presented to:

  • Terry Dodson
  • Glenda Bowdish
  • PeaceHealth
  • Columbia River Maritime Museum
  • Kevin Campbell
  • Bob James
  • IQ Credit Union
  • LSW Architects
  • Deena Pierott
  • Boys & Girls Clubs of SW Washington
  • Dave White
  • Paula Sardinas
  • Janell Ephraim
  • Ron Wright
  • Robin Westphall
  • Pam Clark


Jessica Vavrus, AESD/OSPI Professional Learning Network


  • Jill Smith Battle Ground Public Schools
  • Milt Dennison Mt. Pleasant School District
  • Ralph Pruitt Skamania School District
  • Bob Garrett Toutle Lake School District


Stephen Vance, Vancouver Public Schools