TimMerlino_150pixwDear Friends of Education,

I want to wish you a happy and prosperous New Year! 2016 will bring lots of exciting initiatives and opportunities for ESD 112.  As with our partner school districts, we couldn’t do the work we do without leadership and guidance from the dedicated individuals who serve on our boards.

ESD 112 is governed by seven members who are elected by local school board members. They represent all geographic regions in our six-county service area – from the beach to the Columbia River Gorge. Our board members are committed to assuring responsiveness and high quality service to our districts and communities. A special thank you those who lead and guide ESD 112!

Ann CampbellAnn Campbell
Elected to the board in January 1995, Ann served as board president from January 2008 to January 2010. She and her husband, Walt, recently sold their General Store in Glenwood and relocated down the road to Home Valley. Ann continues to represent Camas, Centerville, part of Evergreen, Glenwood, Klickitat, Lyle, Mill A, Mt. Pleasant, Roosevelt, Skamania, Stevenson-Carson, Trout Lake, Washougal, White Salmon Valley and Wishram districts. Past president of the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD), Ann is particularly interested in rural schools. Ann is active in her church and the General Federation of Women’s Clubs. Aside from her civic involvement, Ann has several school-age children and their activities and schooling keep her busy.

Dr. Richard GrahamDr. Richard Graham
Dr. Graham has served ESD 112 since 1997, and was board president from January 2006 to January 2008. He is currently Vice President and serves as the representative to the Association of Educational Service District (AESD) Executive Board of Directors. He is a retired optometrist representing Castle Rock, Green Mountain, Kalama, part of Kelso, Naselle-Grays River Valley, La Center, Ocean Beach, Toutle Lake, Wahkiakum and Woodland school districts. A long-time advocate for children, Dr. Graham’s support extends beyond the borders with his volunteer work in “Casa de Elizabeth A.C.” an orphanage in Mexico. In addition to Mexico, he and his wife, Margaret love to travel both here and abroad.

Rainer Houser
The former school superintendent was appointed to the board in August 2014 and will officially be sworn into office during the October 2014. He serves as the legislative representative on the board. Rainer was superintendent of the Ocean Beach School District from 2005-2009, completed a one-year term as Chair of the Regional Superintendents’ Executive Advisory Committee, and engaged in numerous ESD services.  He most recently served as consultant on school improvement, leadership, and student achievement for various school districts and organizations including OSPI and the Washington State Leadership Academy.   He and his wife of 50 years reside in a home on the Pacific Ocean.  He represents the Castle Rock, Kelso (partial), Longview, Naselle-Grays River Valley, Ocean Beach, Toutle Lake, and Wahkiakum School Districts.

Patricia KelloggPatricia Kellogg
Patricia C. “Trish” Kellogg was elected Board President in 2015.  Kellogg represents Director District 4, which includes Ridgefield and the northern part of the Vancouver school districts. Kellogg’s experience is in financial and administrative management and includes work with higher education, small businesses, manufacturing firms, and nonprofit agencies. Most recently, she worked at Washington State University Vancouver. She lives in Ridgefield and enjoys spending time with her five children and 13 grandchildren. In addition, she enjoys gardening, vacationing at the Washington coast, and cooking with her local gourmet group.

Marilyn KoenningerMarilyn Koenninger
Marilyn began on the board in 1988 and served as its president from 2003 to 2006. A resident of Vancouver, Marilyn represents District 5, which covers part of Vancouver School District. She is a board representative to Children Northwest, where she serves as past President. Marilyn is an active supporter of several community organizations and keeps abreast of issues that face the city and county as well as school districts in general.


Darlene StickelDarlene Stickel
Darlene was elected in 1998 and served as board president from January 2010 to January 2012. A Clark County resident since 1971, Darlene “De” represents District 6, which covers most of Evergreen School District. De is a board representative to the Early Head Start/ECEAP Policy Council. She is also active with the Clark County Skills Center and serves on the General Advisory Committee. After a successful career with the Hewlett Packard Corporation, De has recently completed the Warner Pacific College Masters Degree program in Management and Organizational Leadership. De is an avid sportswoman and has been active in local soccer leagues for many years. She currently serves as a referee to community soccer leagues and sees no end in sight.

Steve WrightsonSteve Wrightson
Steve has served on the board since September 2004 and served as board president from 2012-14. He is Fire Chief of Clark County District 3, a position he has held since 1989. Wrightson and his wife live in Hockinson and are very involved in the community. Two of their three daughters currently attend Hockinson schools and Wrightson serves on the Hockinson Schools Instructional Materials Committee. He represents Battle Ground, part of Evergreen and Hockinson school districts in the ESD Region.

These members represent all of the 150 board members throughout our region who volunteer their time, talent and expertise to help us achieve our goals.  Thank you for your service and commitment!

-Tim Merlino
ESD 112 Superintendent